This is the "ATLA Religion Database: Articles by Scripture Text" page of the "ATLA Religion Database: Searching by Scripture Text" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ATLA Religion Database: Searching by Scripture Text  

Last Updated: Aug 26, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.ambs.edu/atlascripture Print Guide RSS Updates

ATLA Religion Database: Articles by Scripture Text Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for Articles by Scripture Text

Click ATLA Religion Database to begin scripture text searching now.

Or, select the Articles tab on the library home page. The link to ATLA Religion Database  is under the search box.

The videos at right demonstrate two ways of searching. Advantages and disadvantages are listed below.

 

Searching by Scripture Citation Using the Scripture Text Tool

Using the Scripture Text Tool

 

Advantages and Disadvantages

Advantages

[Scripture] search button is easy to find on the top menu bar.

Bible books, chapters and verses are listed. Select [Expand] for more precision.

Disadvantages

List includes results for the desired text within broad sections of scripture.  Often retrieves many irrelevant citations.

Only canonical books are listed. Can't search Apocrypha and other non-canonical texts.

 

Testimonial: ATLA Scripture Citation Index

A New Testament scholar describes the value of the Scripture Citation Index for searching the ATLA Religion Database.

 

Searching by Scripture Citation Using the Scripture Citation Index

Using the Scripture Citation Index

 

Advantages and Disadvantages

Advantages

Select texts from a list of chapter/verse citations.

More precise results.

Number of results is displayed for each chapter/verse citation.

Non-canonical texts may be searched (Wisdom, Maccabees).

Disadvantages

Scripture citation index is hard to locate on the search screen.

Select [Indexes] from top menu bar.

Select Scripture Citation from the drop down list.

Need to know the format used for scripture texts. Enter book and chapter only, then browse for specific verses.

Matthew 10

Samuel, 1st 5

Results are in alphanumeric order. Browse all the entries for a chapter and select the relevant ones.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip