Skip to main content

Community Borrowers


Church leaders and other interested individuals from the local area are invited to use the facility and borrow library materials.

An individual who resides in Elkhart County, Indiana and adjacent counties may apply for a community borrower card.

Community borrowers may not:

  • request materials from other libraries
  • borrow equipment
  • remotely access electronic resources

When a loaned item is seriously overdue or lost, the borrower must pay the item's replacement cost plus a $20 processing fee.

Circulation periods

  • Four weeks: general stack books, subject to recall after two weeks
  • Two weeks: audiovisual materials, other special materials
  • Twenty-four hours: reference books, periodicals

A print-out of due dates may be requested at the check-out counter.

Service area

The service area for AMBS Library community borrowers includes residents of Elkhart County, Indiana and adjacent counties.

In Indiana:

  • Elkhart County
  • St. Joseph County
  • Lagrange County
  • Noble County
  • Kosciusko County
  • Marshall County

In Michigan:

  • St. Joseph County
  • Cass County