Skip to main content

Citation Styles (Turabian)

A comparison of the two styles covered in Turabian

Warning!!

Links to citations in the library databases save some typing. Always check the formatting for footnotes and bibliography in Turabian.  If you are citing an essay in a book or a book review, you will need to make adjustments.

Even better, use Zotero to manage citations. Zotero Citation Management library guide.

Which Style to Use?

EBSCOhost displays two styles of Turabian citation.

The Chicago/Turabian: Humanities style of citation is most commonly used at AMBS. In A Manual for Writers, this style is called Notes-Bibliography.

The Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date style in not generally used at AMBS.  In A Manual for Writers, this style is called Parenthetical Citations-Reference List. 

Chapter 15 in Turabian, A Manual for Writers is a general introduction to citation practices.  The Bibliography Style and the Reference List Style are compared on p. 135.

Notes-Bibliography Style (Humanities) AMBS STANDARD

The Notes-Bibliography style of citation is most commonly used at AMBS.  It is covered in chapters 16 and 17 of Turabian's A Manual for Writers.

Footnotes are numbered in the text and inserted at the bottom of the page where the reference appears. Use the References tab in Microsoft Word to insert footnotes in a text.  Endnotes are generally not used at AMBS.

The bibliography is an alphabetical list of all sources consulted including those referenced in footnotes.

In the EBSCO databases, this style is called Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.  The citation provided in EBSCO is for the bibliography.  The style for a footnote is slightly different.  See samples in Turabian, chapter 17.

Author-Date (Reference List)

The Reference List style does not use footnotes. See chapters 18 and 19 in Turabian for description and examples. This style is not recommended at AMBS.

When a reference is made, the author, date of publication and page number are provided within the text in parentheses. Example: (Johns 2010, 46).

The Reference List at the end of the document is in alphabetical order by the author's name.  The date of publication follows immediately after the author's name.  Example:

Johns, Loren L. 2010. "Faith and historical-critical pursuits in teaching." Conrad Grebel Review 28, no. 2: 45-51.

Readers curious about a quote in the text must turn to the reference list at the end of the paper for full information.

In the EBSCO databases, this style is called Chicago/Turabian Author-Date. In Turabian, it is called Parenthetical Citations-Reference List Style.