Skip to main content

Worship and Preaching

Get to know these magazines now. You may want to subscribe later.

Non-Denominational

Preaching: Leading the Church, Proclaiming the Word. Articles about preaching, sample sermons and illustrations for use with specific lectionary texts. Supplementary material at Preaching.com is sponsored by advertising.

Worship Leader.  A magazine for leaders of contemporary Christian worship in the evangelical tradition. Published by Worship Leader Partnership. In library print collection.

Living Pulpit: Serving the Gospel's Servants. An online journal sponsored by New York Theological Seminary.  Free registration required for access to articles and commentary on lectionary texts.

From Christian Denominations

Leader: Equipping the Missional Congregation.  Worship resources for the seasons of the church year are created by groups in various regions of Mennonite Church USA and Canada. The magazine also has feature articles and columns adressing a wide variety of pastoral issues. Free and subscriber-only materials are available at LeaderOnline. Published by MennoMedia.

Call to Worship: Liturgy, Music, Preaching, and the Arts. Feature articles, columns and prayers for public worship.  Published by the Office of Theology and Worship of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). Indexed in the ATLA Religion Database. Use the Find It button to request articles.

Reformed Worship: Resources for Planning and Leading Worship. "The purpose of Reformed Worship is to provide worship leaders and committees with practical assistance in planning, structuring, and conducting congregational worship in the Reformed tradition." A password is provided in each issue for access to online content. Indexed in the ATLA Religion Database through 2000.

Scholarship in Liturgy and Worship

Liturgy: Journal of the Liturgical Conference.  The Liturgical Conference is a non-denominational association concerned with the renewal of Christian life and worship. Indexing in Academic Search Premier. Request articles with the Find It button.

Studia Liturgica: An International Ecumenical Review for Liturgical Research and Renewal. Issues have papers given at the annual conference of Societas Liturgica. Indexing in ATLA Religion Database. Request articles with the Find It button.

Worship. A review concerned with liturgical renewal published by the monks of Saint John's Abbey. In 1951, the title changed from Orate Fratres to Worship. Full text is available in ATLA Religion Database.

Scholarship in Homiletics

Homiletic is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal sponsored by the Academy of Homiletics.  It is an open access publication hosted by the Vanderbilt University Libraries. The ATLA Religion Database indexes this journal and also provides links to full text.