Skip to Main Content

AMBS Library Resource Access Policy

  • The adequacy of the AMBS Library to serve the needs of its users is judged according to the commitments of the library’s Philosophy of Resource Access. Do the library’s discovery tools, delivery services, acquisitions practices, and preservation priorities meet the needs of students and faculty? 
  • Teaching faculty use their subject expertise and knowledge of the curriculum to select materials for the library. By this practice, professors constantly shape the collection to support teaching and learning. Department representatives oversee collection development in their departments and also represent the concerns of teaching faculty in AMBS Library Committee deliberations on resource access. 
  • AMBS librarians track requests to and deliveries from other libraries to assure that service goals are met efficiently. They monitor statistics of online databases to confirm that usage justifies annual subscription expenditures.
  • Librarians routinely evaluate the collection as they locate materials in the stacks and identify books for repair. In areas of the collection where classification numbers are being updated, books are examined for continued fit according to the resource access philosophy. 
  • Students assess the quality of the library collection on course evaluations, on the annual AMBS student satisfaction survey, and on the ATS Graduating Student Survey. Faculty evaluate student use of library resources in papers, projects and presentations submitted for grading. 
  • The library has access to OCLC Collection Evaluation software via its membership in Private Academic Library Network of Indiana (PALNI). The library may routinely produce comparisons with holdings of partner libraries, especially within the PALNI consortium. The library’s holdings should largely complement rather than duplicate the holdings of partner institutions unless usage frequency suggests a need for multiple copies. Results of systematic collection analysis may be used to adjust AMBS collections to reduce unnecessary duplication with partner libraries.