Skip to main content

Digital Mennonite Periodicals

Information and links to digitized Mennonite periodicals

Digitization of Gospel Herald and The Mennonite

A partnership of Mennonite-related library and archive organizations is providing free online full text versions of significant Mennonite denominational publications.

  • Gospel Herald (1908-1998) was the denominational magazine of the Mennonite Church (more info).
  • The Mennonite (1885-1998) was the denominational magazine of the General Conference Mennonite Church (more info).
  • The Mennonite (1998-) is the denominational magazine of Mennonite Church USA.

Initial funding support was provided by a wide range of Mennonite-related library, historical, and archive organizations. With significant grant support from the Schowalter Foundation and copyright permission from MennoMedia and The Mennonite, these periodicals are now available in digital form via the Internet Archive. Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary Library and Mennonite Historical Library at Goshen College provided originals for scanning and staff support for the project.

Within each volume, researchers may conduct a full text search to more quickly locate topics and articles that are of interest. Online access makes these periodicals available to researchers who may not be able to travel to a Mennonite library or archive.

At the completion of the digitization of Gospel Herald and The Mennonite, funds were still available to digitize several predecessor tiles to Gospel Herald.

  • Der Herold der Wahrheit, published by John F. Funk from 1864-1901, had quasi-official status in the Mennonite Church (MC).
  • The Herald of Truth, published by John F. Funk from 1864-1908, had quasi-official status in the Mennonite Church (MC).
  • Gospel Witness, published weekly from 1905-1908, served the Mennonite Church (MC).

Rival publications Gospel Witness and The Herald of Truth merged in 1908 to form Gospel Herald.

News

 

April 25, 2017

Volumes from The Gospel WitnessThe Herald of Truth, and Der Herold der Wahrheit have been posted online. Internet Archive collections have been reorganized to facilitate discovery of digitized items.

May 19, 2016

Volumes of MCUSA's The Mennonite have been posted from from 1998 to 2014. One volume will be added each year to this collection. Selected articles from more recent issues may be read on The Mennonite website.

January 11, 2016

All volumes of Gospel Herald and The Mennonite from the beginning of publication to 1998 are now posted on this guide and our Internet Archive site. There may be additional work needed to fix problems in digitized versions.

Please contact [email protected] if you find any problems in our digitized resources.

Viewer Response

Tell us about your experience with the digital periodicals - links invite additional feedback
I found what I wanted with no problems: 4 votes (66.67%)
I found what I wanted but had a problem: 0 votes (0%)
I was not able to find what I wanted.: 2 votes (33.33%)
Total Votes: 6