Designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester prealgebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text introduces the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles.
Provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses.
Adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course.
Designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration.
Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations.
Actively engages students in learning the subject through an activity-driven approach in which the vast majority of the examples are completed by students. Where many texts present a general theory of calculus followed by substantial collections of worked examples, we instead pose problems or situations, consider possibilities, and then ask students to investigate and explore.
An introductory text for a college algebra survey course. The material is presented at a level intended to prepare students for Calculus while also giving them relevant mathematical skills that can be used in other classes.
Textbook that covers the traditional study in a modern prealgebra course, as well as the topics of estimation, elementary analytic geometry, and introductory algebra.
Written in a clear and concise manner, it carefully builds on the basics learned in Elementary Algebra and introduces the more advanced topics required for further study in applications found in most disciplines.
This textbook is used by the Department of Mathematics at College of the Redwoods in Eureka, California for instructional purposes in their Math 120 course, Intermediate Algebra.
Covers whole numbers, fractions, decimals, percents, ratios and proportions, measurement, and integers. Geometry and statistics are integrated throughout the text rather than covered in independent sections. The textbook does not include exercises. Instead, a collection of handouts/worksheets is available, as well as online homework.
A first course in ordinary differential equations. Written for students in science, engineering, and mathematics who have completed calculus through partial differentiation.
An introductory textbook aimed at college-level sophomores and juniors. Typically students will have taken calculus, but it is not a prerequisite. The book begins with systems of linear equations, then covers matrix algebra, before taking up finite-dimensional vector spaces in full generality.
Presents an introduction to the fascinating subject of linear algebra. As the title suggests, this text is designed as a first course in linear algebra for students who have a reasonable understanding of basic algebra. Major topics of linear algebra are presented in detail, with proofs of important theorems provided.
Follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory.
Introduces students to the discipline of statistics as a science of understanding and analyzing data. Students learn how to collect data, how to analyze data, and how to use data to make inferences and conclusions about real world phenomena.
This textbook is intended for introductory statistics courses being taken by students at two– and four–year colleges who are majoring in fields other than math or engineering. Intermediate algebra is the only prerequisite. The book focuses on applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it.
This text is designed for an introductory probability course taken by sophomores, juniors, and seniors in mathematics, the physical and social sciences, engineering, and computer science. It presents a thorough treatment of probability ideas and techniques necessary for an understanding of the subject.
An introduction to Operating Systems for programmers. Includes material from operating systems, networks, databases, and embedded systems, but it emphasizes the topics programmers need to know.
An introduction to Python programming for beginners. It starts with basic concepts of programming, and is carefully designed to define all terms when they are first used and to develop each new concept in a logical progression.
The Library provides access to databases that contain e-books, e-journals, images, videos, etc. that can be used to supplement textbooks and other course materials. To learn more, see the following:
Advantages of ebooks include:
accessible 24/7 from anywhere with your username and password
can search the text of the book to find information
