Facility and Collections Information

As of July 2019, the library collection at AMBS includes 120,220 volumes. The subject breakdown of the print book collection is as follows.

72% Philosophy and Religion

29% Bible

11% Christianity

14% Doctrinal Theology

21% Practical Theology

8% Protestantism

5% Religions

11% Other Philosophy & Religion

4% Sociology

6% History

4% Language and Literature

14% Other Subject Areas

The focus of the AMBS library is on materials needed for theological study and ministry preparation. Its strengths include biblical studies, ethics, church history, ministry, Anabaptist-Mennonite studies, peace and justice studies, and interfaith dialogue. 

Each year, about 800 items are added to the collection, selected carefully by the AMBS faculty and the librarians. It is our hope that the rich resources from the past, combined with information in new forms, will continue to serve not only AMBS students, but also pastors and church leaders across North America and in our own community.

The stories about books can be as interesting as the stories in books.

For example, Miracles in the New Testament by J.M. Thompson, was published in London, England in 1912. The inside cover indicates it belonged to Lester Hostetler, Mennonite musician, pastor, and hymnal editor. A stamp shows it was part of the Witmarsum Theological Seminary collection, Bluffton, Ohio. A code number on the first page directs us to the library's handwritten acquisition record where we see someone entered the book into the collection on November 30, 1925. From Lester Hostetler's library to Bluffton to Chicago to Elkhart, the book has enriched the work of students and pastors for over 100 years.

Many of the materials in the library could tell other stories of how they came to be in the collection:

• Donations have come from personal and institutional collections, such as from Jacob Quiring, Bluffton College professor who had extensive resources in ancient Near East, archeology, and biblical studies; and John Howard Yoder, Mennonite theologian and former AMBS professor.
• The Witmarsum Theological Seminary collection became part of the library of Mennonite Biblical Seminary. Witmarsum was a Mennonite graduate theological school which emerged from Bluffton College and operated from 1921 to 1931.
• Mennonite Biblical Seminary (MBS), affiliated with Bethany Theological Seminary in Chicago from 1945 to 1958, developed its collection of resources with future accreditation in mind. Its library also served as the historical library of the General Conference Mennonite Church. Librarian Magdalen Friesen reported the MBS collection included approximately 13,000 volumes in 1958 when it was moved to Elkhart.
• AMBS purchased the personal library of Otto A. Piper in 1963. When he retired as professor of New Testament at Princeton Theological Seminary, approximately 4,000 volumes came to AMBS in installments.
• Goshen Biblical Seminary grew out of the Bible department at Goshen College, Goshen, IN, becoming a seminary in 1946. Until GBS joined MBS in Elkhart in 1969, the two seminaries maintained separate libraries. Paul Roten, librarian, reported a total of 55,000 volumes after the collections were integrated in one location.
• Current acquisitions include online databases and electronic resources, bringing a wide array of materials to students in Elkhart and taking online courses.

Several special collections enhance and supplement the AMBS library:

• The collection of J.E. Hartzler, dean and president of Goshen College, 1911-1918.
• The Studer Bible Collection, gathered by Gerald Studer, a pastor who had a life-long mission of collecting Bibles in many languages, translations, and versions.
• Several hundred rare and fragile materials, secured in the library's Special Collections Room.
• The Mennonite Historical Library, housed on the campus of Goshen College, Goshen, IN, in which AMBS is a partner with Goshen College.