Guides: Peace Studies: Online Resources

Reference

Here are some online reference resources.

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by Nigel Young (Editor)
Call Number: REF 303.6603 O98
Publication Date: 2010
Click the title to read online or browse the print volumes when you are in the AMBS Library. It is a comprehensive reference work covering peace issues from religious, political and social science perspectives. The fourth volume includes key peace documents, specialized vocabulary, a topical outline of entries and an extensive index. AMBS users working off campus should login to their library account for linking to bibliographic citations.
An Encyclopedia of War and Ethics by Donald A. Wells (Editor)
Call Number: REF 172.42 E56
Publication Date: 1996
Select title to read online in ebrary.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database of magazines and peer-reviewed journals including many full text articles. Because of this broad coverage, ASC is highly recommended for research in peace studies.

Content is added daily although some publishers withhold new articles during an "embargo" period of several months.
Try limiting searches to "scholarly journals".
To view most recent articles first, change the sort from "Relevance" to "Date Descending".
Use the link to request articles from another library when full text is not available.

Tips

1. Use * to include multiple word endings.

Example: christian* will include results for christian, christians and christianity.

2. Use quotation marks to search for words together as a phrase.

Example: "Martin Luther King" will limit results to the 20th century American leader.

Paid E-book sites

AMBS library purchases e-books from two sources. What you can do with an e-book depends on the service that provides it.

Proquest Ebook Central
AMBS has a subscription to ProQuest's Academic Complete collection of over 86,000 interdisciplinary titles. AMBS has also activated some additional titles on this platform. All ProQuest e-books may be viewed on the ProQuest site via any web browser.
more...less...
Remote access
The ProQuest site can be accessed remotely by entering your library barcode and password when prompted.

Print a selection
Choose "Read online" and then choose the printer icon to download a printable PDF selection. Each book has a limited number of pages available for printing. The interface will tell you how many pages you can print.

Download a chapter
The ProQuest reader has a chapter download option, signified by an icon that looks like a page with a down arrow. Choose "Read online," find the chapter you want to download, then choose the chapter download option to download a PDF. This download will not expire, so it can be saved for later.

Download the whole book
For most devices, but not Kindle, entire e-books may be downloaded to your computer, e-reader or mobile device for 14 days. You have to first install Adobe Digital Editions, create an Adobe account, and activate your device. The ProQuest interface takes you through the steps needed to download a book.

Get the Bluefire Reading App
ProQuest utilizes the free Bluefire reading app, available for Apple and Google Play. You may want to access helpful Bluefire support information.
EBSCO eBooks
AMBS has access to over 5,700 titles in EBSCO. Some of these are interdisciplinary titles, but many are carefully selected theological titles. All EBSCO e-books may be viewed on EBSCO's site via any web browser.
more...less...
Remote access
EBSCO's site can be accessed remotely by entering your library barcode and password when prompted.

Print a selection
You may print a selection from the book. Often, this is up to 60 pages or a single chapter, but the limits vary by publisher. You may not print more than one copy of the same pages. See this brief video tutorial for instructions.

Access Limitations
Many of the EBSCO e-books are limited to one user at a time. If someone else is using the book, EBSCO will display a message indicating you cannot access it because it is already in use. You will need to wait until 15 minutes after the other person closes the web browser where they were viewing the book. Out of courtesy to other users, please close EBSCO e-books immediately when you are finished reading them.

Download a selection
You save selections of up to 60 pages or a single chapter as a .pdf and transfer it to your computer, e-reader or mobile device, including a Kindle. See this brief video tutorial for instructions.

Watch: EBSCO & ProQuest Ebooks

Free e-books

Open Library
Contains Internet Archive books that are under copyright protection. U.S. copyright law permits libraries to lend a single digital copy of books they own physically. Internet Archive created a lending arrangement for their copyrighted digital books that conforms to these regulations. Anyone can become a borrower of Open Library at no charge.
more...less...
First, you will need to create a personal account in Open Library.
Remember that Open Library books can only be used by one person at a time. One copy is shared by all Open Library users everywhere.
When you are not reading an Open Library book, please click on "Return Book" in the upper left hand corner so it is available to others.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
more...less...
HathiTrust is a consortium of research libraries whose books were scanned by Google. As part of their arrangement with Google, they were given copies of Google's scans to post on their own. The HathiTrust libraries have also added content to their repository that was not scanned by Google, but keep in mind that there is significant overlap with Google Books.

Many of the HathiTrust books are still in the public domain and are listed as "search only." Others are available in their entirety.